This Week on The Americana Pulse: 2/11/14

riverandthread

Sunday was a fairly big day for Rosanne Cash. After hosting a portion of the pre-telecast Grammy Awards ceremony, Cash walked away with three trophies herself. In a flurry of announcements and flustered acceptance speeches Cash was handed awards for Best American Roots Performance for “A Feather’s Not a Bird,” Best American Roots Song (shared with her husband and co-writer John Leventhal) for the same tune, and Best Americana Album for the disc that contained that song The River & The Thread.

To honor Cash’s clean sweep of those three categories, I’m declaring The River & The Thread an Instant Classic Album and featuring it throughout the show Wednesday night. Along the way, we’ll also visit with some of the artists Cash edged out in her categories as well as other roots-based winners like Old Crow Medicine Show (Best Folk Album), The Earls of Leicester (Best Bluegrass Album), and Mike Farris (Best Roots Gospel Album).

mikefarris

Speaking of Mike Farris… I imagine the above picture is how he looked when he found out he won the Grammy. Although, I suspect that’s just how he looks every time he takes the stage and shares his music with the people. Back in September of last year, I spoke with Farris about a couple songs from his Grammy winning album, Shine for All the People. I’ll re-air that Three Songs conversation late in the show on Wednesday in the 10:00 hour.

I don’t normally put a whole lot of stock in the Grammys. But for Mike Farris… for all he’s been through, and for all I know this album meant to him… I got pretty excited when I learned of his win on Sunday.

robbyhecht

Our regular Three Songs slot this week goes to Knoxville native, and current Nashvillian, Robby Hecht. Hecht gives us some cool insights on co-writing with Amy Speace, recording with Mindy Smith, and why he calls Devin Sproule “the Paul Simon of people who I know.” I truly enjoyed chatting with Robby. He laughed a lot, and seemed to really enjoy talking about his music.

I really enjoy talking about and playing music on the radio. I hope you’ll join me for everything we just discussed plus new music, bands coming to town, The Americana Almanac, and more.

The Americana Pulse airs Wednesday from 6-11 on WDVX. I hope you’ll check it out.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

